Skip to main content

The Care Certificate

The Care Certificate is applicable to all support staff who are new to the Trust and have patient-facing roles.

The Care Certificate programme was introduced in 2015 as part of the response to the Francis Inquiry into the failings of care at Mid-Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust.  

This programme covers the learning outcomes, competencies and standards of behavior expected of support workers in health and social care settings. The aim is to ensure that you are caring, compassionate and provide quality care. 

The Care Certificate includes 15 standards, which take into account the following:

  • The Code of Conduct for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers in England
  • The Social Care Commitment, which is the social care sector’s promise to provide people who need care and support with high-quality services
  • The Chief Nursing Officer for England’s six Cs:
    • Care
    • Compassion
    • Competence
    • Communication
    • Courage
    • Commitment

We have created an online training package for all new starters. You will need to log in to the Moodle platform to access this training.

Last reviewed: 17 June 2021